Anna Ciesla

“When Dean Hoffmann called me into her office and told me I had won I was overcome with joy,” Anna Ciesla said.

IMG_9376

Ciesla poses with Dean Hoffmann after receiving the Woman of Promise award.

Ciesla was referring to the Dr. Mary A. Hamilton Woman of Promise award. Each year, the Russell J. Jandoli School of Journalism and Mass Communication selects a student as its woman of promise. Given to a senior journalism and mass communication major who excels in and out of the classroom, the award is named after Dr. Mary A. Hamilton,’59, professor emerita of journalism and mass communication.

“I had really hoped that I would get this particular award.  I’ve spent my last three years working my rear end off and receiving this award goes to show that hard work does, in fact, get noticed,” Ciesla said.

Ciesla said she’s honored and proud to be among the many women of promise who have come before her.

“Makeda Loney and I have been in contact a lot over the last few weeks discussing various things regarding the award,” Ciesla said. “I am very proud to be in a group with such great role models.” Loney received her award in 2014.

Ciesla attributed her success while at St. Bonaventure to her work ethic, time management and organizational skills. She credits a strong supportive group of friends and family who have helped her along the way.

Graduating with her bachelor’s degree in journalism and mass communication in just three years, the senior has been involved with the SBU-TV production truck since her freshman year and has loved every second of it.

“I’ve done a number of different jobs in the truck and honestly wish I had time to learn more,” Ciesla said. “It was always exciting working a big game, but the best thing I have been a part of was working on the first completely student-run telecasts. Corinne (Lettieri) and the entire crew did a great job on those games.”  Lettieri directed several telecasts.

IMG_9419

Ciesla gives her acceptance speech.

Of the role models in her life, Ciesla credited her professors in the school of JMC as some of the most significant.

“All of the professors here in the J-school are fantastic role models,” Ciesla said.  “They have all led successful careers in each of the fields and have so much valuable knowledge to share. Doors on second Murphy are always open, and I’m so appreciative of that.”

If she could give young women any advice, Ciesla said it would be work hard, stay organized and don’t put anything off until the last minute.

“We as women of promise need to step up and take any opportunity that we can,” Ciesla said. “Never settle for less than you deserve.”

-Skye Tulio 

One thought on “Anna Ciesla

  1. Pingback: Lori Quigley | Bona's JMC

Leave a comment